San Mateo County DUI Attorney
The Law Office of Robert Tayac
San Mateo County DUI Lawyer Attorney Profile Expert Profiles Testimonials Case Evaluation Contact Us
What To Do First
DUI Overview
The Criminal Case
The DMV Case
Field Sobriety Tests
Blood Alcohol Testing
2nd, 3rd and 4th DUI's
DUI Penalties
Blood Alcohol Calculator
FAQ
DUI Defenses
Out of State Drivers
DUI & Drug Arrests
Boats & Motorcycles
DUI Schools
Federal DUI
DUI Accidents
California Drunk Driving Defense by Lawrence Taylor and Robert Tayac
WARNING
We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover.

DUI Penalties

If a person is convicted of DUI in San Mateo, he/she will face a variety of serious legal punishments.  These punishments may include:  jail time, fines, community service, probation, DUI school, and license suspension.  In some cases, the person's vehicle may be impounded as well. 

California has strict DUI statutes that judges must take into consideration when rendering sentences for convicted offenders. Judges must also consider all aggravating circumstances involved in each person's case. Aggravating circumstances may include: driver refusal to take the BAC test, BAC results of 0.20% or higher, having a minor under age 14 in the vehicle, and/or DUI convictions. In cases where there are aggravating circumstances, DUI sentences may be enhanced.

If you have been charged driving under the influence, your freedom and way of life are in great jeopardy. The best thing you can do is speak with a knowledgeable DUI attorney.  A San Mateo attorney can evaluate your case and negotiate with prosecutors. In some cases, an attorney may be able to have your DUI charges reduced or dismissed. 

Below is a list of non-enhanced legal penalties for 1st, 2nd, 3rd, and 4th DUI convictions:

First DUI Offense
48 hours to 6 months in jail
$390.00 to $1,000.00 monetary fine
License Suspension:  up to 6 months
Attendance in an alcohol treatment program. 

Second DUI Offense
90 days to 1 year in jail
$390.00 to $1,000.00 monetary fine
Up to 2 years license suspension
18 months or 30 months in alcohol treatment program

Third DUI Offense
120 days to 1 year in jail
$390.00 to $1,000.00 monetary fine
Up to 3 years license suspension
18 months to 30 months in alcohol treatment program

Fourth DUI Offense
180 days to 16 months in jail
$390.00 to $1,000.00 monetary fine
Up to 4 years license suspension

San Mateo DUI Defense Attorney

The Law Office of Robert Tayac has helped countless clients fight their San Mateo DUI charges.  With years of trial and DUI litigation experience, Attorney Robert Tayac has the skill and legal expertise it takes to successfully contest his clients' DUI charges.  Whether your are a first time offender or a multiple DUI offender, you can be assured that Mr. Tayac will put every effort into helping you avoid a criminal conviction. 

Contact the Law Office of Robert Tayac for your free DUI case evaluation!

Any person who drives under the influence of drugs and/or alcohol places his/her life and others in great danger.  For this reason, California has adopted strict DUI laws and legal penalties.  If a person is convicted of driving under the influence in San Mateo County, he/she faces life-altering legal punishments such as jail time, fines, probation, license suspension, and vehicle impoundment.  When you are charged with DUI, you need the counsel of an experienced San Mateo attorney to increase your chances of winning in court.